Why we exist

Independent Schools Victoria is a champion for choice and diversity.

The mission of ISV is clear – to support independent education for the benefit of students and the wider community. We advocate on behalf of our members and promote the importance of independent education.

We champion independent schools as an essential pillar of the school education system, alongside government and Catholic schools. We offer programs, products and services which benefit everyone and are focussed on building robust civic society.

Our organisation

ISV is the state’s peak organisation for Independent schools.

There are currently 222 Independent schools in Victoria, operating on 372 campuses and educating more than 160,000 students – representing 16 per cent of Victorian school students. In 2023, Victorian Independent schools employed 24,600 full-time teaching and non-teaching staff.

ISV was established in 1949. Membership is voluntary and open to all registered non-government schools in Victoria.

ISV respects and promotes the autonomy of our members by providing the services, support and advocacy they need to deliver the best possible education for all students.

As a trusted voice in independent education, we work constructively with all levels of government. ISV is a not-for-profit organisation and a member of Independent Schools Australia (ISA).

What we do

Empowering independent education through services, support and advocacy.

We work on behalf of member schools, their staff, students and communities.

From professional learning programs for teachers to providing help with critical administration issues, our services help schools continue their vital work every day. Because we value independence, we tailor these services to serve the individual needs of each school.

We also work on behalf of our member schools through advocacy to government, the media and the wider community. Our dynamic research and innovation programs ensure independent education in Victoria continues to lead the nation.

We are members of the School Policy and Funding Advisory Council which provides advice to the Victorian Minister for Education on issues affecting all schools – Independent, Government and Catholic.

School improvement

All member schools can access our expert team of school improvement advisors. We’re here to guide schools in the right direction through a range of tailored improvement initiatives.

Funding, accountability and compliance

Stay on top of your school’s accountability requirements through our funding and accountability services. We can also provide vital information and resources about government funding.

Employment relations

Schools can access information including issues around equal opportunity, teacher registration, codes of conduct, enterprise bargaining and working with children checks.

Research and innovation

Research and innovation go hand in hand at ISV. We offer forward-thinking projects and opportunities to support staff, engage students and create positive learning outcomes.

Capital funding

We help to navigate capital funding applications through the Block Grant Authority (BGA) with useful online information. We also run a series of information sessions.

Media and communications support

For advice about communicating a message to your school community – parents, staff and students – or to the wider news media, we can help.


Our board of directors, working for members.

We’re governed by a board of directors that oversees our organisation. Our board meets regularly throughout the year. Six principal representatives and six governing body representatives of our member schools make up the board.

Meg Hansen,
Acting Chief Executive

Meg Hansen, M.A (Hons), Dip.Teaching, is the Acting Chief Executive of Independent Schools Victoria. She has more than 40 years’ experience in educational leadership, including serving as Principal of Westbourne Grammar School and Lauriston Girls School.

She is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a director of the Invergowrie Foundation, and has held various board positions, including at Victoria University and the Association of Heads of Independent Schools of Australia (AHISA).

Board of Directors 2023/24

Elected members

Governing Body

Ms Marianne Stillwell, Wesley College

Immediate Past Chair
Dr Anne Waterhouse, St Catherine’s School

Mr Peter Eben, Bialik College

Mr Richard Page, The Geelong College

Dr Fida Sanjakdar, Australian International Academy

Ms Deanne Thomas, Woodleigh School

Head of School

Deputy Chair
Mr Philip Grutzner, Melbourne Grammar School

Ms Josie Crisara, Aitken College

Ms Linda Douglas, Ruyton Girls’ School

Ms Debbie Dunwoody, Camberwell Girls Grammar School

Mr Ross Grace, Heathdale Christian College

Mr Mark Torriero, Goulburn Valley Grammar School

Co-Opted Board Members

Mrs Susan Hughes, Chair VIS BGA